Do you have questions about terminating your sex offender registration requirements? Here you will find answers to the questions we are most frequently asked. If you would like us to terminate your registration requirements, please see our sex offender registration service.
This depends on the Tier level you are classified under. In Nevada, there are Tier I, Tier II, and Tier III level offenders. The full term of registration is: 15 years for a Tier I offender, 25 years for a Tier II offender, and Life for a Tier III offender. NRS 179D.460(2)
This also depends on your Tier level. If you are a Tier I offender, you can ask a court to release you from your registration requirements after you have registered for at least 10 consecutive years. If you committed a Tier III offense when you were a juvenile but were only “adjudicated delinquent” for that offense, then you can apply to a court to release you from registration requirements after you have registered for 25 consecutive years. There are additional requirements other than these waiting periods. NRS 179D.460(3)
In 2008, the Nevada legislature drastically amended its sex offender registration laws to comply with the federal Adam Walsh Act. The changes were supposed to take effect on July 01, 2008. However, in February of 2014, the Nevada Supreme Court issued an order temporarily stopping the law from being put into effect so that they can review the matter.
If the law does go into effect, the major substantive change to the laws was in the way sex offenders were classified. Previously, an offender was classified as a Tier I, II, or III (most severe) based on a variety of subjective factors (in order to determine the risk of reoffending). Under the new law, sex offenders are classified based on the offense of which they were convicted alone; thus, the classification was supposed to be more mechanical and objective after the changes.
Here is a comparison of the previous and current version of NRS 179D.490(3) specifically:
BEFORE 07/01/2008: - Lifetime registration for all offenders - All offenders eligible to petition for early release (except those subject to lifetime supervision or community notification) after 15 years of registration - If petition denied, cannot re-apply for another 5 years
ON AND AFTER 07/01/2008: - Tier 1 = 15 years - Tier II = 25 years - Tier III = for life - Tier III “juvenile delinquent offenders” = may petition for early release after 25 years. - If petition denied, can re-apply any time
If the State made a promise to you that you would not have to register as a part of the plea agreement then the State cannot now require that you register. ACLU v. Masto
We can research your case for you and determine if you are eligible to have your sex offender registration terminated early. We charge a small fee to do so and that will apply to the total for any service you subsequently sign up for.
This depends on whether the offense you committed is substantially similar to a Nevada offense that requires registration. NRS 179D.097
The crucial question is whether you have another conviction following the conviction that required you to register. If you have been convicted of another sex offense or a felony during the waiting period, you will not be eligible (or will not prevail, even if eligible.)
We will evaluate why the petition was denied, and depending on the reason for the denial, we will refile the petition.
No, we will attend any scheduled hearings for you. If the court requests your presence and you are unable to attend, then we will request for your presence to be excused.
The termination process typically takes six to eight months in Nevada, depending on your individual circumstances, the court’s workload at the time, and whether there are any objections from the government. The court is required to give the government and other interested parties (such as the victim) an opportunity to be heard at the hearing.
The courts work on a first-come, first-served basis. Therefore, the sooner you sign up, the sooner your case is heard and decided. If helpful, we will gladly write your employer or potential employer or licensor that we are currently helping you get off sex offender registration.
The judge should issue an order releasing you from all the requirements that you have been subjected to as a registered sex offender. It is good practice to confirm with both the State and your sex offender case worker to determine exactly when your registration duties end so that you do not get arrested for failure to register. NRS 179D.490
If the court releases you from sex offender registration, the release has no effect on the conviction.
Yes. The conviction does not go away.
Unless you get your conviction sealed, the conviction still remains and you cannot legally deny that you have that conviction. Moreover, sex offenses are not eligible for sealing. There is no law in Nevada or at the federal level that prohibits an employer or licensing agency from asking about your past convictions. NRS 179.285
No, terminating your sex offender registration does not affect your right to own a firearm. The only way to restore your gun rights in Nevada is to get a pardon from the Nevada Board of Pardons Commissioner. NRS 213.090
In Nevada, you may serve on a jury if you: 1) are a United States citizen, 2) are a resident of the county for which you receive summons, 3) are not convicted of a felony, unless you have had your rights restored, 4) understand the English language.
*The Expedited Record Clearance Update service is not a court service and requires a granted court order. Once we receive a granted court order for your case, we can expedite an update of 650 private background check companies within 14 business days. The service does not involve or influence any court, tribunal, legislative body, or public official in order to complete the update, nor does is expedite traditional court or government record update processes.