This page was designed to help our clients better understand our Oregon Firearm Rights Restoration service. You will find answers to the questions we are most frequently asked. If your question is related to eligibility requirements please take the free online eligibility test.
Simply click on a question to see its answer:
It is difficult to say the chances of you being granted an Oregon firearm rights restoration without researching the exact details of your case. For a thorough analysis of what is on your record and what options you have, we charge a researching fee of $250, which we apply to the cost of any service that you hire us to perform.
The court that restored your firearm rights will be notified and may decide to terminate the order that previously restored your firearm rights.
If you are not sure what is on your criminal record or how it affects your firearm rights, we would be be glad to work with you to get a copy of your record and review what can be done. We charge a researching fee to obtain all the information and analyze your case. That evaluation fee would then apply to the cost of any service that you hire us to perform.
Expungement of your conviction in Oregon will automatically restore your firearm rights. (ORS 166.270(4)(b) & 166.470(1)) You do not need to have your firearm rights restored in addition to expungement.
If your case is denied, the reason is usually because of (1) an inaccuracy in the court file, (2) the serious nature of the offense, or (3) the court believes you still pose a threat to the public or yourself.
Your rights were automatically restored in Oregon and you do not need firearm restoration. (ORS 166.270(4)(a)) If you are unsure of this or are still having difficulty purchasing a weapon, please contact our office.
Yes, if you meet all the requirements, but the process will only restore your right to possess a firearm in Oregon and will probably not lift any federal prohibition on your firearm rights. This means that even if you are granted this relief, you will likely still be banned under federal law from owning a weapon.
In order to determine if we can restore your firearm rights, we must evaluate the laws of each state involved. If you would like us to evaluate your case and determine if the restoration is possible, then we can do so for a fee of $250. If you then sign up for the firearm rights restoration, the $250 will be applied to the total.
In Oregon, there is a four-year ban on the purchase of firearms after a conviction of a misdemeanor involving violence (ORS 163.160 (Assault in the fourth degree), 163.187 (Strangulation), 163.190 (Menacing), 163.195 (Recklessly endangering another person), or 166.155 (1)(b) (Intimidation in the second degree)). ORS 166.470(1)(g). This process can restore your rights prior to the expiration of four years. ORS 166.274(1)(b).
If you continue to be denied the purchase of a firearm and more than four years have passed since your misdemeanor conviction, you may fall under the federal misdemeanor domestic violence ban.
In Oregon, there is a four-year ban on the purchase of firearms after a conviction of a misdemeanor involving violence (ORS 163.160 (Assault in the fourth degree), 163.187 (Strangulation), 163.190 (Menacing), 163.195 (Recklessly endangering another person), or 166.155 (1)(b) (Intimidation in the second degree)), which all could be domestic violence offenses. This process can restore your rights prior to the expiration of four years. (ORS 166.470(1)(g), ORS 166.274(1)(b))
In addition, there is a lifetime prohibition from the federal government (Lautenberg Amendment), which prohibits firearm ownership for those convicted of misdemeanor domestic violence as defined by federal law. However, expungement of your Oregon conviction should restore your firearm rights. (ORS 137.225(3), 18 U.S.C. 921(a)(33), 27 CFR 478.11)
You are still eligible for restoration under this process so long as all your felony convictions pass the eligibility test.
Unfortunately, Oregon firearm restoration is available only to those who currently reside in Oregon. However, you may be eligible for expungement of your conviction, which can also restore your firearm rights.
Typically, the Oregon restoration process takes about four to six months. However, that is the average and some cases will take less time and some may take more time, depending on the facts of the case, whether the State is agreeing or objecting, the age of the case, etc. We work on our case as fast as we can and assist the court and State in anything they need to get your case heard and decided.
The courts work on cases on a first-come, first-served basis. The sooner you get started on the process, the sooner your rights can be restored.
In most cases, no you will not need to appear in court, as our licensed attorneys go to court for you. However, the judge may require your appearance.
You will receive a copy of the order from the court restoring your gun rights. The court will update their records and send the granted order and a fingerprint card of your fingerprints to be entered into the Oregon Department of State Police computerized history files.
After your case is granted, it typically takes 30 to 60 days for all the relevant government agencies to update their records. You should keep a copy of your granted order just in case there any issues in the future with an agency not having record of the restoration.
If your restoration request is denied, we determine the reason for the denial and the best way to proceed, which can include refilling in a year or a recommendation that you take additional steps before refilling in order to give the judge the necessary level of comfort to grant your case.
No, unfortunately, because the process involves a lot of work and can require several appearances in court by our attorneys, we do not offer a money-back guarantee on this service. We simply cannot afford the guarantee in addition to this low of a price.