Nevada Revised Statutes 62H.130 & 62H.140

Services Related To This Law

FREE Eligibility Test

Full Nevada Revised Statutes 62H.130 & 62H.140

62H.130. Procedure for sealing records of child who is less than 21 years of age

  1. If a child is less than 21 years of age, the child or a probation officer on behalf of the child may petition the juvenile court for an order sealing all records relating to the child. The petition may be filed not earlier than 3 years after the child:

(a) Was last adjudicated in need of supervision or adjudicated delinquent; or

(b) Was last referred to the juvenile court,

whichever is later.

  1. If a petition is filed pursuant to this section, the juvenile court shall notify the district attorney and, if a probation officer is not the petitioner, the chief probation officer.

  2. The district attorney and the chief probation officer, or any of their deputies, or any other person who has evidence that is relevant to consideration of the petition may testify at the hearing on the petition.

  3. After the hearing on the petition, the juvenile court shall enter an order sealing all records relating to the child if the juvenile court finds that:

(a) During the applicable 3-year period, the child has not been convicted of a felony or of any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; and

(b) The child has been rehabilitated to the satisfaction of the juvenile court.

eff. Jan. 1, 2004.

62H.140. Automatic sealing of records when child reaches 21 years of age; exception

Except as otherwise provided in NRS 62H.150, when a child reaches 21 years of age, all records relating to the child must be sealed automatically.

eff. Jan. 1, 2004.